Chambord Gown by Dior

Jewelry is one of those things I rarely wear and yet I can’t stop buying. I LOVE jewelry. Clothing, on the other hand, is something I appreciate but rarely purchase. I dress very practically and casually so Goodwill is fine for my needs. That doesn’t mean I can’t dream, though. And purses…don’t get me started on purses. Vintage and funky describes my taste best when it comes to purses. Shoes I don’t give a hoot about, for the most part. I spent the majority of my life in San Diego County and shoes were nothing more than a nuisance to me. Bare feet and flip flops were my preference.

My Clothing and Jewelry board (https://www.pinterest.com/lissaemmett/clothes-and-jewelry/) is the place where I can collect to my heart’s content without taking up closet space. I even have a few examples of footwear I wouldn’t mind owning.

This dress is a gown by Christian Dior, named Chambord. It is now a part of the Metropolitan Museum of Arts collection.

blog 3

The museum’s site is a wonderful, easy to navigate source for all forms of art. http://www.metmuseum.org/collection/the-collection-online/search/83740. The Dior collection was exhibited in 1997 and the majority of the dresses, including Chambord, were donated by Mr and Mrs Byron Foy. I wanted to see if I could find a picture of Mrs Foy wearing her dress but was unsuccessful. I did, however, find some interesting articles about her and the intrigue she created after the Met exhibit. Mrs Byron Foy was Thelma Chrysler Foy, daughter of Walter Chrysler (yes, that Chrysler). She was quite the socialite, who died of leukemia at the age of 55. I wish I could find an image of her during healthier days, twirling happily in her golden silk Dior gown. This was the closest I could find. Not in Chambord but quite possibly another one of her Dior’s.

ThelmaChryslerFoy

Here are a couple of the articles I found about Mrs Byron Foy, her collection of gowns and her impeccable taste:

http://aestheteslament.blogspot.com/2012/02/from-archives-thelma-foys-top-drawer.html

http://rarevintage.blogspot.com/2009/11/mysterious-mrs-byron-c-foy.html

http://content.usatoday.com/communities/driveon/post/2009/11/drive-ons-sunday-society-news-mysterious-socialite-was-a-chrysler-heir/1#.Vms2A-ODGko

 

Leave a Reply

